A.W. Pink’s Masterpiece – THE SOVEREIGNTY OF GOD

A.W. Pink’s Masterpiece – THE SOVEREIGNTY OF GOD

– the Book that taught me God’s Absolute Sovereignty and Man’s Total Depravity.

Brother A.W. Pink has had a great influence in my life and through his writings, he being dead yet speaketh! In Pink I found a ‘like-minded brother’. Here was finally someone who not only preached the doctrines of Grace FAITHFULLY but also RENOUNCED the existing Christendom of his day as APOSTATE. It grieves my heart that in our day even many who claim to love Pink’s writings and have even made them available on the Web are themselves part of the Great Whore!

I came to understand the Reformed Faith a few years after the Lord saved me. But I truly did not really understand it like I should have until I read A.W. Pink’s ‘The Sovereignty of God’! I was first given the compromised condensed form of this book published by the ‘Banner of truth’, and I was so blessed. But sadly I had not eaten the whole meal until I read the complete book published by The Bakers!

I said this then, and I’ll say it again – There is no writer who is familiar with the Scriptures and is faithful to it as A.W.Pink! HE STANDS IN A CLASS OF HIS OWN and has an insight into the scriptures which is second to none!

Unlike most writers of our day, Pink never wrote anything just to be writing. He really had something to say. Not only that, but what sets Pink apart from the rest is that He saw the present Christendom of his day for what it really was …. APOSTATE! And in obedience to his Lord he steered clear of it and admonished others to do so.

He was no half-baked, pusillanimous, milquetoast, string for a backbone ‘panty waist’ like the majority of the ‘Reformed’ preachers today! Like His Master and His Apostle Paul, he could care less what people thought of him as long as he was faithful to His God!

A lot of folks who read Pink and quote him today do not really know him. They ought to read his letters to understand where he really stood!
Oh may God give us more men like A.W. Pink!

Michael Jeshurun

Reviews from Amazon . com by those whose lives were changed after reading this book –

“When first published in 1918 this book was very controversial. The reason for this is probably due to the fact that in Pink’s day the doctrine of God’s sovereignty was almost completely ignored, misunderstood or rejected. Why read or study a book on the doctrine of God’s sovereignty? The author believed that this doctrine is the second most important doctrine taught in the Bible, the first being the Divine inspiration of the Bible, which is the title of Mr. Pink’s first book that was published. Pink has this to say about the importance of this Biblical truth on p.19 “It is… the key to history, the interpreter of providence,…and the foundation of Christian theology, (p.215) …it is designed as the sheet anchor for our souls amid the storms of life.

The doctrine of God’s sovereignty is a divine cordial to refresh our spirits. It is designed and adapted to mould the affections of the heart and to give a right direction to conduct. …It affords comfort for the present and a sense of security respecting the unknown future.” A right understanding of this doctrine places God on the throne where he belongs and under His blessing produces humility in His people. The Sovereignty of God is the most comforting doctrine in the Bible to a Christian in the midst of trials. This reviewer is convinced that ‘The Sovereignty of God’ by A.W. Pink is one of the most important and influential books that has been written in this century.” [J. Adrian]

“There’s nothing like the doctrine of God’s sovereignty that can cause a man to be humble and yet at the same time confident of his salvation. When I first read this book, I must admit that I found it hard to accept the doctrine of Calvinism. Like many Christians in the charismatic churches, I was taught that I could lose my salvation, that Jesus Christ died for every person, and that free-will triumphs over God’s sovereign will.

Even so, this precious book has made me reconsidered my Arminian beliefs until finally I began to see that salvation is from the Lord from the beginning to the end. How God has caused this book to impact my spiritual life is beyond measure to me. My whole outlook of life has changed dramatically, now that I know that He is in control of my life and my salvation. To Him alone then, be all the glory.” [Alcaff Surjadi]

“This book is full of the wonderful ways of God. Our Lord is an awesome God and this book helps anyone to understand just who God truly is. I gained such insight on God.” [Betty Jo Nelson]

“This is an excellent book. A great exegetical examination of the Sovereignty of God! A.W. Pink does a wonderful job of showing how you cannot deny the Sovereignty of God in Scripture. I was convicted from reading this book at just how little I have made God in my theology.

I highly recommend this book to anyone. It will change the way you think about God’s Sovereignty!” [Stearns7]

“A. W. Pink is an incredible gift of God. What truth. This is without a doubt the springboard of all his other books. Words are inadequate, but God has used this man to put words together in ways that are so revealing and vital for our appreciation and exaltation to GOD Almighty” [Sharon Oliphant]

Leave a comment